100 Words: The Future of Us


In 1996, neighbors Emma and Josh log onto AOL and discover their futures on Facebook. Snippets of info set them off changing their fates—accidentally and on purpose!

Suspending disbelief that Future-Emma still used her first AOL email and password, this compulsive read had everything I love: the 90s, time travel, and the domino effects of our lives. I wanted more 1996 instantly impacting 2011, but that’s the internet addiction talking!

With social media absorbing our lives, this is a timely and cautionary tale encouraging us to live in the Now. If we don’t, what—and who—are we missing?

Learn More: The Future of Us
Author: Jay Asher, Carolyn Mackler
Publishing info: November 21st 2011, by Razorbill; ISBN 1595144919
Age Range: Recommended for ages 12+, but your mileage may vary! Minimal swearing, no violence, light alcohol consumption, mild sexual situations.
Olivia’s Rating: 3.5 out of 5 smiley pumpkins

Want to see more 100 Word Reviews? Subscribe to this blog for short, sweet insight to YA books both old and new!

7 thoughts on “100 Words: The Future of Us

    1. Yep I can see it! I’m a GoodReads member, though, so not sure if that’s why. And that is quite the list! I look forward to reading through it and seeing what other ones we’ll both be reading. :D

    1. Thanks! And yes, hunt it down! Short, kinda fluffy, but gets you thinking and imagining “What would *I* do with that computer!?”

      And thanks for the kind words! I started the 100 Word reviews to keep myself from rambling too much, otherwise I know I would! Some of the reviews I’m really happy with! (Especially when they’re 50% or more actual review) But other books I found I didn’t have a lot to say, and wound up with 75-90% explaining the plot with only a line or two of personal opinion.

      Granted, at those times, I suppose it’s not bad to have a plot-focused review: I have read some books just out of “must. read. books.” that I would have been more/less eager for if I had known a little more non-spoilery things about the plot (example: I just posted my friend’s guest 100 Word review on “The Replacement”; it is not spoilery, and gave enough about the plot that I told him, “You actually made me want to read this when I hadn’t been hugely interested before, since it’s not my typical read.”)

      Anyway! As you see, rambling: but what I’m trying to get at is, give it a try! Set yourself a number of words not to go over on a review. 300? 250? 198? You’ll quickly find yourself cutting out things you maybe thought you wanted to say, but don’t ultimately need, and instead getting to the real meat of your opinion. It’s been a fun experience!

      ~Olivia

    2. Also! Before bed last night, I popped over to your month-in-review: you should totally do that again! If I had still been signed in I was going to comment, so I’ll probably do that after I get back from this meeting.

      But I LOVED the short 2-3 sentence reviews on that of the books you read. Quick, to the point, and now I’m really interested in “Wereworld: Shadow of the Hawk”! :D

Leave a Reply

